Trainspotting

The sun was out, I'd been indoors most of the day, I followed where my feet took me. From the railway bridge I saw this odd blind train - no doors, no windows - stretching right down to the bend in the track and beyond. As I was taking photos a man walking the other way over the bridge stopped. Thus I learnt that it contains 300 Mini cars from the manufacturing plant just beyond the Oxford ring road and that at about 6pm everyday it heads off to Southampton or Purfleet. There's one train every morning and one every evening. They used to put all the cars on just one train but it was longer than the gap between signals so the train had to be split. 

That many cars, every day.

At four minutes to six it moved, silently. The engine was beyond hearing distance.


A very late post for yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.