The world through my eyes

By NatalieDimbleby

Berat, Albania

So today we took a coach from Durres to Berat to visit the heritage village and castle. After getting off the bis we were a bit lost but used our instincts and Maps Me app (would totally recommend for offline help) to navigate to where we needed to go. As typical tourists we thought the coach would drop us outside of where we intended to visit. After walking aimlessly for 45 mi Ute's or so we realised we had got to the heritage village, which was lovely and a sight to see and we saw signs for the castle. Little did I realise what a feat it would be to get to the castle. The walk up the mountain was so long and treaturous it nearly killed me. So many times on the walk up, I thought of quitting and going back the way I had come. However on reaching the top, I was so glad that I didn't as the views were amazing and no photo could ever do it justice. There was also a sense of self achievement in doing something I didn't think I could. I was so happy that I ploughed on. Anyone traveling to Albania, Berat is a must go to place. The castle is the biggest that I have ever seen and is so worth the long hard walk up there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.