Privileged

And I am.  Very  privileged to be able to get my hands on these gorgeous gowns,  We changed the displays a couple of weeks back; I'd never seen this little number before.  It's pure silk, and quite obviously an evening gown.  And it's tiny.  These Victorian women were minuscule compared with us modern amazons.  Tiny bones and  slim, and short.  The lady who wore this wouldn't have been more than 5 foot tall, with an 18" waist.

It's been an epic day for us.  The back story is that you have to pay for entrance into the Belair National Park; and it's $12 a car load which isn't cheap.  Free if you walk or cycle in; but if you do walk, a lot of the attractions are literally miles from the main entrance.  Take OGH for example; it's deep in the Park, about 3 km from the entrance.  The Volunteer Centre is even further.

So today I got the news.  All those who come to the Park specifically to visit OGH; for a wedding or other function, or a private tour; or a general tour on a open day can get in free!!  I nearly cried when our Liaison Ranger told me. 

I've fought so hard for this, and finally ..... finally..... my persistence has had some effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.