Praying For An Osprey

Backblip.

Ollie dog and I spent most of the afternoon in the company of a small and changing observation of birders on a wooden viewing platform. We were hoping to see the eponymous bird arrive to fish in Osprey Lake at Panshanger Park. It stops off here for a few days around this time every September on its way to its wintering grounds in Portugal or Africa. It was seen on Sunday and Monday but failed to show today. :(  I did get some big bird action but my settings were wrong and the light and aspect wasn't good so I've converted the shot to mono in an attempt to make the best of a bad job. A crow is harrying a red kite. 

I got the shot of a migrant hawker dragonfly in flight (extras) just after I arrived at Panshanger. I'm confident of the ID as the diagnostic 'golf tee' 
mark can be seen on its thorax.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.