Skip's Blips

By Skip

The hummers are still here.

The arrival of migration time always brings a somewhat melancholy mood. In my opinion, autumn is the best season here on the south shore of Lake Erie. I love the fall colors and cooler temperatures, but I hate to think about the shorter days and much cooler temperatures that will soon arrive. Nevertheless, I love living here and probably wouldn't move if given the chance. Well, maybe for the months of January through March. I would give serious thought to finding a more colorful and warmer climate for those months. But right now, the hummers are still here, so I don't have to worry about winter for a while. Yesterday I was talking to someone who just returned from a trip to far northern Michigan, and she told me their hummers, butterflies, and other migrants haven't started south yet, so apparently we still have a little time to enjoy them. I'm celebrating with this blip (and an extra) of a hummer that visited our backyard buffet yesterday. Yay!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.