Loving the dash

I went to a funeral once where the story about "Living the Dash"  was read and I thought it was a very good bit of advice.  The dash in the story refers to that little piece of punctuation you find in between two dates - in the story the dates were the date of your birth and the date of your death.  It talked about really living the time we are given on earth and not wasting the opportunities we are given.  The older  I get, and the more I see of people who are ageing (or not getting the chance to age), the more determined I am to try to make the most of all the skills, time and opportunities I am given.  I look back over the years (Sorry about this!) and recognise times when I did stupid, wrong things, times when I have hurt other people, you probably  all know the sorts of things I mean, and I at least try to learn from them now.  I try to be true to myself and I try to do my best for all the people I love and all the people I should love and struggle with.  I try to be patient and understanding.  I try to be strong and do the right things.

You might be wondering what this little saga has to do with my blip today.  Well, I was a bit bored on a tiresome journey home from a lunch out with one of my friends so I spent a lot of time looking at the dashboard on my car with its lights changing colour.  It really makes me smile and appreciate how lucky I am to be able to have a car like that!  I love my dash because it helps me live my dash!

So there you are. Live your dash to the best of your ability!  And love it as much as you can!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.