A Writer's Life

By Awriterslife

Research

While the boys spent the day with their grandparents, I tried to cram in one day all I needed to see in Washington. First, I visited the Newseum to see the permanent 9/11 display: pictures of the front pages from 9/12, the mangled antenna from the north tower, and pictures and artefacts from Bill Biggart, the only photojournalist who died in the attacks. He stayed with the firefighters, surviving the collapse of the south tower, but was caught in the debris of the north tower.
The museum shop was rather interesting: it had many, many items aimed at Trump: magnets goading people to check their facts, for instance. It was rather interesting to see...

Then, because part of my research is on how we choose to commemorate, I visited the holocaust museum. I arrived late, and was lucky that a volunteer took pity on me and gave me a pass, as they were done for the day. I told her I was there for research, and as a former researcher, she was happy to help me get in. It was a somber, at times claustrophobic visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.