Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Abstract Thursday: Opera House

After a good start to the day, and a busy morning where a number of things got done (tidying up, ironing etc. whilst G spent hours in the kitchen making lasagna, banana cake, lemon drizzle cake and a cheesecake), we dressed ourselves up and went out to the Dubai Opera House!

I've been wanting to get a decent picture of this very large and prominent light feature chandelier since I first saw it in 2016. This is the best I've been able to get, and I think it qualifies as an abstract.

We watched The Magic Flute by Mozart. It was G's choice as she had taken part in a kids performance back in her youth. I didn't get round to reading about it before I left home, so it was all new to me.

We had pretty decent seats thanks to our local telco giving us a 2 for 1 offer and the helpful lady in the box office. The libretto was in German, but it was all translated for us in English and Arabic on a very high-level screen. The sets were simple, yet clever and the singing perfect. I recognised some of the melodies. Can't say I could really get into the story though, and even G asked me at halftime if I wanted to leave. We stayed to the end, which I am glad about because the tunes I recognised were in that section.

An 8pm start leads to quite a long and late evening. Too early for dinner before and too late after. I was starving when I got home, so a shawarma from the local Lebanese was fine. G couldn't face anything more than a cup of tea and biscuits. Doesn't seem right somehow after a grand night out, but there you go.

I think they could have started earlier seeing as it was a public holiday (Islamic New Year) and the other two performances are on the weekend. There were parents carrying their sleeping children back to their cars!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.