A Cake Tale

I’m sure Cabin Fever is a certifiable ailment. I have it today. There is no cure at the moment unless I want to get very wet. Obviously my symptoms are not bad enough because I can’t face a soaking. A quick stint of baking seemed like the best remedy.

This banana cake had quite an eventful preparation. It was baked on a whim, when I espied two very over ripe bananas in the fruit bowl.
His Lordship is the banana eater in the Dower House, but he has been somewhat lacking in keeping abreast of the supply lately, so a banana cake it was, the recipe for this one being taken from Google.

The ingredients were weighed out and beaten before being put into loaf tin and into the oven. As I was washing the utensils I realised the flour was still on the scales; so the tin was removed from the oven, the contents put back in the mixing bowl and the flour folded in to what might otherwise have ended up as a sweet omelette. I am very surprised that it came out of the oven looking as reasonable as this.
The smallpox effect is because visitors arrived at the back door as I was giving the still warm cake a glaze of icing sugar which didn’t get dissolved properly. I think this is the least of the cake’s worries.

PS -It was tried and tasted by our Chichester guests while it was still warm, and pronounced edible...... even delicious. Result!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.