CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Camilla calls for order

My hand is rather worse than I had expected from my injury yesterday, so that I have had to be very careful about using it to avoid pain. The doctor thinks it may take three weeks or even longer to heal, so I have to adjust my activities.

I did have to cancel my offer of helping to hang the pictures and display boards for the Stroud Preservation Trust exhibition, which had its official launch early this evening. I had also promised to take a picture of the cutting of the cake by the Deputy Mayor, John Marjoram, who has been an active councillor in Stroud for nearly as long as the Preservation Trust has been active. The council has always supported the Trust and its endeavours in saving buildings in the town, so it was fitting that Amanda M., the Mayor gave a speech and John cut the cake. They are both Green councillors as is the whole town council. and it is fitting that they look to preserve, or recycle rather than always build anew.

I had a very hard time taking some pictures as the lights were all set to illuminate the wall hung displays. I also only had my prime lens so finding the right spot at the right time with the right settings was nearly beyond me! I have now sent Camilla the images I shot and she has chosen the 'one' to send to the local paper, who will run a story about the Trust's exhibition with the picture in their weekly edition published on Wednesday.

I preferred this picture of Camilla, who is the chair of the Trust and who has been the prime mover in getting it organised. She is calling for order so the short speeches can start before the cake is cut to formally open the exhibition and honour thirty years of hard work by all the Trustees and many others! Standing just behind her is Anne M., who was one of the founder members and she has been working hard on all the projects ever since. She deserves several medals!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.