CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

'Between the worlds', by Annie Whiteley

My hoped for restful day did not materialise. I did manage to have a lie-in, with a longer sleep than usual and Bomble seemed respectful of my sleep, which is most unusual. Helena is his most common target but he does try to paw on your face at 5am or a slow climb over your sleeping body to check that you aren't awake yet. If it is cold he then likes to dive under the duvet and snuggle up in the warmth. Ah well, we do love him.

Annie left a message while I was in the bath saying she would be going to hang the paintings of her exhibition, which will be in a well-liked local venue, Mills Cafe, in Witheys Yard, off the High Street. Did I want to meet her there? To do that I had to fill up with fuel in the car, drive to the farm shop in Bisley and then return to the centre of town. While I was at the garage, I somehow managed to badly hurt my middle finger on one hand, which was very painful. I thought I might have dislocated it, but I had to carry on, which turned out to be quite difficult with my hand virtually unusable.

I managed the drive and the buying of the vegetables and eggs etc, but by the time I'd parked in town, I realised I would have to go to the minor injuries unit at Stroud Hospital. I took my camera with me to meet Annie and Matty at Mills Cafe and was glad I did, as I had a chance to take some pictures of her paintings and prints. They had nearly finished hanging them when I arrived, so that with the restaurant closed I could wander about and try to get a reasonable record of the images, despite the glass covering the pictures and the odd lighting, which is designed for eating rather than displaying paintings.

This picture is one of Annie's favourites, as she has a strong emotional connection to it, and the period when she produced it. It is a limited edition print from the original pastel, which she has already sold. I love her and her work, and we have known each other for nearly forty years through thick and thin. She now lives in West Wales, quite near to Newport, Pembrokeshire, where she continues to paint, but only in oils now, as she can't get the right quality of pastels, nor the right type of paper.

Some years ago when I lived in london, I delivered some of her paintings to the Society of Equestrian Artists Annual exhibition held at Christie's showrooms. She won three awards that year, including Best Pastel, as well as the exhibition's visitor's Favourite category, judged by their voting,, which I would imagine is the best one to win. You can see those pictures here on their website.

I'm sorry that my 'reproduction' is rather poor, but I wanted to show you some of her fine work, though it may not be to all tastes. I asked Annie to check the colours in this photo, and I know it isn't how she 'sees' it! No-one has eyes quite like hers. But she realises that the conditions weren't great.

Here is a link to Annie's website, where you can see a few of her other paintings, mostly of horses. I am trying to find some money to buy one of her original pastels, since there will be no more ...... :o(((

Strangely, Helena has been away staying for the weekend in the same Newport where Annie comes from now. Annie also introduced me to the woman whose workshop I attended yesterday. Everything seems linked, sometimes.

Here is an earlier blip of Annie, oner of my few portraits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.