CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A stile, with added algae and beech leaves

Last night saw the public launch of the refurbished Lansdown Gallery which I have been very involved with facilitating on behalf of the council. It was good to hear the views of some of the users, both old and new, all of whom were very happy with the state of the new facilities.

Then this morning I had to rise early to prepare myself for the day long course I was attending in Woodchester's small village hall, only two miles from Stroud in the Nailsworth valley. I will be going to a series of these workshops every six weeks and as always I have come away exhausted but enervated by the value of what we were involved with.

We had a bring and share lunch together, which is a very common scenario around Stroud, because it works so well financially whilst enabling ten people to sit and share a table piled with good food and interesting chat.

After the meal we had a few minutes before the workshop resumed, so I took my camera for a short walk to the edge of the village, where a small stream runs down a combe to meet the main river. On the way, I saw this footpath and track leading up the hillside to a farm. I like this old form of ironwork stile, designed to keep cows out or in, and the rather desolate and seldom used farm gate, so I thought I would record it here to share with you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.