Great Church in Dordrecht

See below for next day's additions. Today we visited Dordrecht--the oldest city in Holland, and the city of my ancestors. They left before 1800 and eventually settled in Alabama, where my father grew up. Dordrecht is lovely, witha superb Great Church (Grote Kerk), which we visited extensively.  I had been there in 1959 with my parents. On that occasion we found a tombstone in the floor with a version of the name Van de Graaff, which we thought was from our family.  Today we found that tomb again; I emailed my cousin Pat a photo (see the extra), who has become the historian of the Van de Graaffs; she replied that the person [Huybert Van de G) does not seem to be from our family. This is of course disappointing, but the day's outing was nonetheless enjoyable and absolutely worthwhile. [b]Sept 18:[/b] Further revisions on our family history.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.