Annie and Chris

By AnnieAndChris

Jumbled Up

It's not the greatest work of art today, but it reflects how I (Annie) feel at the moment. Jumbled - too much going on - a bit fuzzy. Work, work, work. A clear view of where we need to get to, but mixed in with a load of distraction.

This week is going to be complicated and tiring. I'm travelling to both Bristol and Edinburgh this week, and deputising for my boss while she's away. Neither is difficult, but it's mixed up with so many other things on the todo list. Bottomless todo list. So the left side of today's blip shows the endless hours of work desks.

The right side of the blip is my school governance work. As a school governor you need that clear picture of the excellence your school can achieve. You need to support and challenge them to get there. It's a rewarding yet difficult job these days, as the responsibilities of the governors have increased. At times obsuring this clear vision are the day to day matters to be dealt with, and it's easy to lose sight of the vision. Not helped by the fact Ofsted will be in on Wednesday.

Both sides together are the reflections in a wonderfully-shaped building in the City that I passed on my way to the tube to get back from work in London. I needed to be back for a school governor training course which went on until 9:30pm - after a 5:30am start I'm feeling more than a little fuzzy. So the picture is dark, and taken on a very high ISO - grainy, just like my brain at the moment.

There were better, sharper, more colourful pictures today - but sometimes it's about capturing your day's essence. I liked the way St Paul's loomed glowing out of the darkness.

In contrast, I (Chris) am on holiday this week, however I have been handed a to-do list by Annie so it is less relaxing than I imagined. Today has been all about assembling the IKEA furniture we bought yesterday. This has included disassembly of the previous furniture which is now stacked in the dining room furniture warehouse, pending collection later this week by a local charity shop.

This evening I've been out with the running club. They've asked me to become a run leader for which I'm going to do a day of formal training with English Athletics. In preparation for that, I'm going to run as a support lead for a few weeks at the back of whichever group I'm assigned to, making sure we get across roads safely and don't lose anyone off the back of the group.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.