Islaynder

By Islaynder

Britannia and the Sealion

Just couldn't get motivated to do anything active today.   
I saw that there was a liner anchored off Leith so popped down to Ocean Terminal to get a photo of it.  Whilst there (on the roof of the car park - it's a great viewpoint!) I heard a strange roar and saw a plume of water in the corner of the dock.  
I thought something had exploded.  With the big telephoto lens on the camera I checked out the scene and saw another great plume!  I took a photo but it was spectacularly out of focus.  It seemed to be some sort of venting (blowing ballast tanks?) from a submarine parked in the dock.  Turns out it is HNLMS Zeeleeuw (His Netherlands Majesty's Ship, Sealion) in for a weeks R&R.   

I went over to the other side of the dock for a closer look and caught todays photo - a couple of the boat's crew slacking having a well earned break.  The NL flag is on the boat. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.