Islaynder

By Islaynder

Rigged

Yesterday I saw an interesting photo of an old railway tunnel on what is now a cycle path which goes through Auchendinny (I love that name!). 
So today I went to have a look.  I researched the route and thought it was fairly straightforward (well, not ALL straightforward - there were quite a few corners!      [sorry]    ) but I have recently had trouble with following these National Cycle Network routes so was anticipating "navigational challenges". 
I thought I was being smart by avoiding busy times but I hadn't reckoned on Friday half-day closing of the schools.   And so it was around Dalkeith high school that I was thwarted by the cycle route being clogged with pesky kids! 
So, at a junction, I followed a cycle path. Unfortunately not THE cycle path and I ended up at Mayfield. 
Knowing I was now well off-route and my weather-window was closing I decided to head home. 
Dissapointing.   41Km cycled - a decent day's exercise.
 
But I now know where I went wrong - it was when I decided to follow a flippin' "cycle route". 

Photo - a wee drilling rig at Portobello doing work for Scottish Water. 
See extra for the Lego version!   

     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.