passremarkable

By passremarkable

Kettle's Yard, Cambridge

I have lived in Cambridge for twenty years but today marked my first visit to Kettle's Yard, the University of Cambridge's modern and contemporary art gallery. Many of my fellow book groupers rave about it, and this week friend AM recounted her visit on Monday evening to hear a talk about quick-fire exhibition 'A Setup', running for one week only. I must have been processing this somewhere in my head as, once I had been to the dentist, to the kitchen showroom and to John Lewis, I found myself sauntering in the general direction of said gallery. 
The exhibition in question (a collaboration between sculptor Eva Rothschild + choreographer Joe Moran in the Sackler Gallery) comprised architectural structures (coloured wooden frames the approximate size of fence panels) around which two female dancers (well, at a stretch - they mostly slid, shuffled and stepped their way around) moved on a floor covered in what might be described as polaroid picture sized bits of plastic vinyl. The dancers perform live right throughout the day, I understand. The whole thing made me smile. I actually have no idea what it was about and no interest in finding out. Not sure how AM made it through an hour-long talk about it but, holy shit, I am mos def going back next week to take a peek at the next quick-fire exhibition as it is billed as a group creating sound through knitting, accompanied by a heavy metal band. 
I
can
not
wait.
The exhibit upstairs was entitled 'The Humility of Plaster' and, again, although it was nice to look at and photograph, I had no desire to know anything more about it. Is that awful? Have I become a philistine?
If you visit the gallery you can also go into the former home of Jim and Helen Ede. Jim was a curator at The Tate in the Big Smoke in the '20s and '30s and had an enviable art collection that he positioned carefully amongst purposefully chosen furniture, glass and ceramics. I love the fact that he opened his house to students most afternoons and guided them round his collection, discussing art over tea and toast. Nothing has been moved since the couple left in 1966, giving their home and contents to the University. The house was like the tardis. 
The pic above is of one of the several collections of lush green plants (who has been watering those since 1966?!) through a glass lens.  
A rather wonderful couple of hours out of my day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.