The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Port Talbot, where sheep may safely graze

This scene looks too serene to have been shot from a traffic jam on the Motorway, but I promise it was! I could not go to Wales and 'just' blip sea, mountains and prehistoric burial chambers, because South Wales has a great deal of industrial heritage (coal mining, for one) and some industries that still survive, at least for now.

Visually, Port Talbot is known for its steelworks, which are now owned by Tata Steel, which I think is an Indian company. The other main export is actors: Anthony Hopkins, Richard Burton, Rob Brydon among others were all born in or around the town. Something in the air or water that produces actors?

Here, sheep graze on the banks of the river Afan. The flat roofs of the buildings against the overcast sky caught my eye. I wish I knew what they were.

We left Newport, Pembrokeshire at one o'clock, having had time for a quick walk along the estuary and around the burial chamber, Careg Coetan, but having missed the sun! I was sorry not to have got up earlier and gone for a morning walk along the big beach/Traeth Mawr, with only the horse riders and dog walkers for company. There's always next year, though, and I have an on-off fantasy about being able to take a six month sabbatical and going to live in Newport over one winter, and renting a lonely cottage, in which to write. Of course, then I might actually have to write more than 1000 words, and I might have to win the lottery ...

You heard this gubbins here first.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.