Egg stretches for the ball

I did once know Egg's real name. In fact, he told me this time last year and I've forgotten. You see, I taught Egg between 1995 and 2000 when both he and I left Gillingham Community College, he was 16, me much older. He was always known as Egg, always called Egg, everyone called him Egg. I don't know why.

He's one of three people who has played for the Anchorians team since they left Gillingham Community College. I usually see one or more of them when I'm up there refereeing or observing - which I was today. The other two must have been playing for the 1st XV away.

Odd, isn't it how few people continue with a sport from school? If I think of all the young people I was involved in coaching over the years I wouldn't imagine more than a tiny minority have continued with rugby. Hopefully, many continued with other sports or taken up other sports over the years.

A good, warm, sunny day for watching rugby. Come December it'll be different. It was a bit of a rush this evening owing to going out to the Gulbenkian Theatre to see Daphne's Flightperform - a group of 5 women of a certain age who are immensely talented as instrumentalists and singers who harmonised so beautifully and sang songs with real meaning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.