The Hickleton Crosses

No new photos today as I’ve been following up from our day out to three churches in South Yorkshire taken yesterday.  I’ve concentrated on the three sets of images that I took in Hickleton and it’s taken me the best part of the day to choose, edit, add tags and then add information to the data base.  We enjoyed our visit but I’m finding the data recording quite time consuming, though not without interest.  I see the possibility of a South Yorkshire sculpture trail that links the `crosses’ of South Yorkshire emerging from this photography outing. Hickleton had eight originally, which were the outward signs of the Lord of the Manor's commitment to Anglo-Catholicism.  Apparently there are six seven still standing and I’ve only managed three so far (originally there were eight).  Photographing those was quite a feat when you have to record most angles plus context and detail.  I’m thinking about choosing ones that are not in the round - much easier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.