Applecross duathlon

The reason we came.
After breakfast in our B&B (and couldn't eat as much as I wanted due to a slightly dodgy stomach) we took the bikes 15 miles up the road to the changeover point and this was the view they had.
Then registration and back to the B&B for a bit as it was right by the start. It was drier than last year but much windiier - as we found out later - and I should  have been a bit quicker but was actually a bit slower. I did strat out too fast last year and ran through all the puddles as my feet were wet anyway but I did try to avaid them this time and my feet were mainnly dry - but it probably cost me some time (and finding a jelly baby to eat!)
Change of shoes and some Mars bar and off for a very tough cycle into a strong headwind, a lot slower than last year. I cerrtainly was glad to get to the end.
Mr Rat was 2nd old man, again, and got a very nice mug.
Out for a meal of fresh prawns in the evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.