River of Flowers

By doffy

Sunday: Sunflower

Started the day making sloe gin with the fruit MrD collected yesterday, made about 2 litres and gave as many again to our neighbours across the road.
Then I sorted out the Bramley apples MrD had collected, I’ve put some on trays to dry before I put them into storage for the winter. The bruised and battered ones have been cut up and I used the monster juicing machine and made 3 bottles of juice. It took an awful lot of apples, 4 hours of me cutting them up then an hour to clear up all the mess of brown sludge which appeared when the machine got clogged and overflowed!!
All the waste from the cutting of apples went into the compost bins, there’s loads of windfalls on the ground for the wildlife ...
I was so exhausted but managed to make dinner for us and am now recovering...
The Sunflower is the first to survive after many years of trying to grow them, they get eaten by slugs and snails but this one has made it to flowering! It’s only 3 ft tall and a couple of inches across, but I’m thrilled with it!
House Martins are still around I saw 2 flying around when I was taking today’s blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.