Maastricht sunset

The sunset was really over, but a thunderously deep stain of red still lay across the furthest limit of the western sky. I looked out to it for a moment. Skye was somewhere out there, more felt than seen.

I fill in yesterday’s hole, despite a rather unpleasant miasma of last night’s whisky. And then it’s time to go.

Claire’s heading to Glasgow via Kinghorn. She has my spare car keys and her spare car keys. Emergency towels, duvet and pillows are loaded into my car. Claire drives.

She takes the train from Edinburgh Gateway. I take the plane, having wrestled down a veggie burrito bowl at the airport.

It’s warm in Eindhoven. The shuttle and train connections are flawlessly smooth. The hotel is two minutes walk from the Maastricht station.

Installed, I wander down to the river. The mustard “welcome soup” that the Hotel gave me has taken the edge off my hunger, but the draw of riverside tables at a local brewery is too much. I drink a beer and snack on salami, old cheese, and grilled veg as the sun drops behind the city skyline.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.