biddy

By biddy

Catching the light.

Today was a busy one! French Book Club this morning, (after hanging out the first load of post holiday washing!) 
We all enjoyed the book very much, and the opportunity to get together and have conversations in French. (My brain took more time to engage however! )
   Back home for lunch and then out again for a different French group session with a private tutor. Three of us share the cost and that works out more economically these days than Adult Education classes. We have an hour and a half which  consists of various kinds of exercises/grammar/translation etc. 
Today was a listening exercise concerning a cricket team set up to help refugees from Pakistan and Afghanistan who used to be in the "Jungle" camp at Calais. (A downloaded video from France 2 TV. )
    Some of them moved up to St Omer and with the help of volunteers and benefactors they were then funded and given the equipment. 
It has given a few of them confidence to look for work, improve their French language and get to know local people. 
Others before them have done the same thing and settled in France rather than continually desperately trying to cross that tantalisingly short stretch of the English Channel between Calais and Dover. 
     By teatime the two loads of washing from this morning had dried. The sun was warm and the light the mellow kind you see in September. 
    I took the photo as I left the second of my French sessions. The light was catching the leaves of the trees opposite the house. 
   I took it with my mobile phone. 
At the moment the waxing half moon is shining outside. 
I have put out the hedgehog food once more as usual. I left some last night, having been away a week. It had gone this morning so I was pleased. 
I had also forgotten that one of my giant sunflower heads was at the back of the small shed near our compost bins, on the seat of an old garden chair. 
As I went up to the summerhouse I could see a squirrel on the chair extracting the seeds. Autumn moves on.........
    
    
       
     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.