A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Nostalgic street

Today I turned up Mill Street to go to the Dr's surgery in the next village - Cullingworth.
(We don't have a Dr's in our own village so it is either the one in Cullingworth or in our other adjoining village, Wilsden.)

As I read the sign the memories came back, having been brought up in Cullingworth, all of one and a half miles away, I used to walk up this street every day to school.

After my appointment I decided to go to the top of the street to see my old school which is now a gated complex of apartments.

It doesn't look that different as the old playground is now a car-park and the high Victorian windows are still there though they have been extended into french style doors.

More memories as the old terrace houses that lined this street, long ago pulled down now, were where my grandma lived in her later years and the Fish and Chip shop at the end of the street was where my mother worked on a Monday teatime, Tuesday (wet fish day) and Friday lunchtime

Lots of nostalgia in one little visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.