If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Solace Day 9. Rubus fruticosus

A very wet day.  Wet days on the boat means I don't take many pictures.  On a dry day the camera lies among the "Captain's Accoutrements" on the roof just in front of us.  On wet days I can leave the guide book charts in their waterproof box and the binoculars (waterproof) out, but I am not prepared to leave the camera there.

From the limited shots I took I have settled on this bramble.  Not because they are particularly brilliant specimens but for the little snail sitting on the bramble.

The "off side" of the canal is generally overgrown with bushes.  When I was young the "old folk" used to say lots of autumn fruit meant a hard winter.  If this is correct we are getting ready for the next ice age.  Hawthorns were so covered in haws they appeared red from a distance, Sloes hung in swathes and the curtains of Brambles thick with berries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.