Rains of Storm Ali

Blue skies and sunshine this morning, but clouded over and the gales picked up, bringing rain.  Gales blowing tonight, and showers continue.

I've been working on the museum desk all day, and a steady day of visitors.  I had plenty to keep me busy, more events needing set up for tomorrow.  I've managed to get our for a walk with Sammy this evening, and it stayed dry for us.  Off to work in the pub later, but surely it will be quiet with the weather.

Storm Ali has arrived, and gales blowing.  I was saddened to hear above a lady in Ireland, and other damage around the UK.  Here in Shetland, we build for the wind, and it's just a normal winter gale.  The thing that shocked me most was the rain.  The rain started about 1pm, and really heavy showers about 3.30pm.  The streets of Lerwick have been flooded, even the museum had a flood in the workshop.  I took this almost exact photo for my Blip two days ago, and the burn was gently flowing.  After the rain today, the water levels have risen, and rapids flowing.  The Laxdale burn, below Stanefield, Cunningsburgh.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.