NellieD

By NellieD

How thick is your Nutella?

It's rained in Manchester most of today, so much so that the food bank I support has flooded. I was there at lunchtime and there was a huge problem with the drains, which have completely backed up, and the rain has just meant the whole of the basement - where they work from - has flooded. I'm gutted for them and just hope it's a temporary problem and doesn't mean they have to close the food bank.

The rain was awful and traffic was at a complete standstill as I left the office. A lady from another part of the building left at the same time but had no coat or umbrella. I suggested she walked under my umbrella with me and I love that such a small gesture can make someone's day better - and drier.

It was my crochet/knit group tonight and I wondered how many would turn out on such a wet night but we almost had a full house. A lady had come to my office last week to buy a piece of equipment and as she left I commented on her beautiful knitted scarf - I can spot handmade garments at 20 paces. We got talking about wool, I gave her one of my group cards, she joined us all tonight and fitted in immediately :)

The billboard was outside the bar where we met and I just managed to blip it before it had completely washed away in the rain.

Quote for today:
It is raining still. Maybe it is not one of those showers that is here one minute and gone the next, as I had so boldly assumed. Maybe none of them are. After all, life in itself is a chain of rainy days. But there are times when not all of us have umbrellas to walk under. Those are the times when we need people who are willing to lend their umbrella to a wet stranger on a rainy day. I think I'll go for a walk with my umbrella.
- Sun-Young Park

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.