Mushrooming

A girlfriend wanted me to go mushrooming with her this morning but it started to rain before I left home. We decided to wait a bit to see if it cleared up and at 10.00 it looked as if it might be OK. When I got to her place it started to rain again but we donned our waterproofs and set off in the forest. It has been a good month for mushrooms and there were plenty around. This brave little Steinpilz (stone mushroom or porcini) had built itself a house but it ended up in the soup, anyway, despite its cleverness. 
There were plenty of the poisonous sort, as well, but my friend knows her mushrooms well. I love these bright red Fliegenpilz or Fly Amanita (see extra) as they remind me of the fairy stories I read as a child. I didn't think they really existed. 
We had a good catch - the baskets were getting heavy (see second extra) I spent a while at home cleaning them and made mushroom and potato soup to freeze. Sliced some more to cook and some to freeze. For dinner I made some chicken accompanied by mushrooms in breadcrumbs. Tomorrow will be mushroom risotto. I don't think I will collecting any more mushrooms for about a month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.