passremarkable

By passremarkable

Let there be light

So many lights, yet so few I like... Is that a reflection of the current state of light design or just a comment on my own pickiness? Couldn’t possibly say :)
After an hour with a pupil after school who was desperate to understand the German case system better - slowly, slowly, catchy monkey - I dashed into town to collect the latest book group set text (Claire Tomalin’s ‘A Life of My Own’) from the library and then headed to Juan Luis to continue the search for lights for the flat, now in full renovation mode. Having quickly discounted nearly everything (either because of my ridiculously expensive tastes or my disappointment in seeing the real thing versus the online pic), I happened upon this little beauty (for over the dining table) - half-price, simple yet effective. I was sold. Only then did I find out that it was the last one in the shop and the ring-around of other stores started to try to locate a virgin boxed version. A charming lady from the Newcastle branch phoned later in the evening so that I could purchase one from her over the phone. Her voice reminded me of the mother of an old flame, and I was temporarily transported back to a 'Sliding Doors' filmic moment in life. I smiled, thinking how long it had been since I had thought of her, remembered how kind she had been and wondered how she was doing, before shutting that door again and getting on with the light quest. I later happened upon an LED ceiling panel for the kitchen that I purchased on a whim (sometimes you just know) and two Astro Tokyo wall lights, again from JL. A meeting with Paul, the electrician, tomorrow, prompted the frantic but ultimately fruitful fate-fight-fopping fest. Wish I was better at alliteration ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.