Henries

By nudibranchies

Victoria, Albert and Lil Eggplant

Up obnoxiously early and tackling the rush hour tube from UEL to the V&A, I just missed the last two tickets being sold for Freida Kahlo: Making herself up. Undeterred I got two for my second choice, “Fashioned from Nature”.
It was a fascinating exhibit, going through clothing from the 1800s to present day and its interaction with nature, starting with clothing made from animal fur, whalebone corsets, beetle embroidery and feather muffs before working its way through to modern day catwalk fashion, the impact fashion has on the environment and the ways we can change our clothing to benefit the environment.
Coffee and a wonderful gift from my parents, a book of Freida Kahlo’s dairy pages. I’m so excited to read this though since it has the most wonderful full colour illustrations from her. In addition to my book of Vincent Van Gogh letters, I’m amassing a nice collection of Artist books and biographies.
After wondering around the museum and marvelling at all the (pinched) artefacts and historical objects, we left for coffee and dinner. We walked the wrong way first, then the right way, then the restaurant was full, then we went to Five Guys. I love Five Guys. We ate, said our goodbyes, dad wrote in my new book so I never forget when I got it, and I travelled home with no phone battery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.