Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Scarlet Tanager Female (#25)

I posted a male Scarlet Tanager in my Extra earlier this year as Yard Bird #31.  It wasn't an especially good photo and I'd hoped to replace it with something better.  Like all the summer songbirds, the tanagers are starting to head back to their wintering grounds in S. America.  So, while this female isn't nearly as resplendent as her scarlet-colored mate, she's still pretty enough and worthy of today's blip.  

I also had a red-breasted nuthatch in the yard most of the day.  I suspected that there was one around as I heard the distinctive call of one several days ago.  They are utterly adorable and I am hoping that this one will stick around at least long enough to be properly blipped.  There have been a lot sighted around the county recently, raising speculation that it may be a good "irruptive" year for them here.  Two winters ago I had a pair who stayed for the season, so fingers crossed...

Chilly today, but warm enough to release 8 monarchs, flying for children who've died in Angola, a country with one of the highest infant mortality rates in the world.  My total number of monarchs released this year now sits at 190.  And I am still taking dedications with about 20 more monarchs to go this year.  

A quick glance out the window as I type this and I see chipmunks running all over the patio and yard, 3 hummingbirds chasing each other, various little birds visiting the feeders and a rabbit munching on some clover.  I like my little sanctuary upstairs.

Thanks for stopping by, and let's all try to have a great weekend, shall we?

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.