The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Oh kno! it's the knitting pattern!

"Work and play happily in Doublet classics

the new double double knitting which knits twice as fast to save you time, and is best for family knits because it is 100% pure new wool
all designs in 7 sizes to fit bust/chest 22 to 34"

I must admit to a certain amount of desperation. The toffee-coffee waffles and the woodpecker mug photoshoot did not go very well this morning, and life got in the way of all the other potential shots.

So, here's the vintage knitting pattern. I bought it for 20 pence some years ago. My grandmother Bimbi knitted a great number of toys for us children when we were little, and another special person, Larky, who died when I was 5, was a champion sweater-knitter. We six children got our clothes from shops, from hand-me-downs, and handmade garments, as did most people in the 60s and earlier. I was often dressed in blue, but if I had to identify with anyone in this pattern, it would be the girl in pink. My hair was long and bunchy, though the ribbons usually slid off within minutes. I did not have an older brother with a fetching cardie, nor a vintage car. We had a Consul Cortina ( deep joy, I have just found some images of the model here.)

I am a little sad that I cannot knit, but now that it's so popular again, I could always join one of the groups that meets at the pub, and give it another try. Who knows how many teddies' legs or even arms I might manage before too long?

I have now caught up with blipping
Friday 16
Sat 17
Sun 18
Mon 19 of this month, if anyone cares to look back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.