This is one of the many streams that flow into the Lower Clydach River, currently very swollen with all the rain!

I'd picked a few days to stay with my daughter near Cardiff with the intention of doing a few walks in the Brecons, but the weather dictated otherwise with heavy rain and very high winds.. hey ho!  So I walked the 9 mile circular from the Cwn Clydach RSPB Nature Reserve, starting in the rain and finishing in the rain, but with a brief non-rainy period in the middle... mostly while I was 'lost' on the moorland section of the walk... well not exactly lost, let's just say slightly mystified.  

I could've/should've taken a bearing from the corner of the fence as I went up onto the moorland... but I didn't.  I could've/should've walked up to the cairn to take a bearing... but I didn't. So I ended up not being sure where I was, but elected to follow a fence upwards and found the path, hurrah, after which the difficulties decreased, although I doubled back when faced with a bull in the field with cows and found that I was wrong!  

In my defence the signposting was very good before and after going onto Access Land but inbetween it was non-existent which wasn't what I'd expected... so it was a bit of a learning curve.  If it had been later in the afternoon I would have been worried because I didn't see a soul after I left the car park, but at least I had a headtorch and survival bag with me and there was a phone signal.  Oof, I may be quite old, but I'm a very young mountaineer :-(

Two extras.

9.29 miles
1283ft ascent

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.