Day to day today

By Jewels4663

Night Watch

Today was art today - and I felt quite over it by the time I'd finished!

Started off at the Van Gogh Museum, which was completely rammed.  Interesting to hear about his life but to be honest, I'm not sure I really learned anything new.  Always a pleasure to see such iconic paintings in the flesh though.  

Next was the Moco Museum and it's Banksy exhibition.  Yes, I went to Amsterdam to see a Banksy exhibition!!  However, there was another exhibition going on, showing the work of Icy & Sot - absolutely brilliant work, really though provoking.  If you like street art and havent' heard of them before, do look them up.  

Finally, it was the Rijksmuseum.  The lower floor was really interesting, lots of old ship models, clothes, crockery, glassware, dolls houses (anyone else read The Minaturist).  One of the model ships has videos giving the impression of every day life on one of their ships - very clever!

And of course, Rembrandt's Night Watch.  By the time I got there, most of the crowds had thinned out, I think, so I was able to get up reasonably close.  This group were really taken by it though, so thought they deserved a photo!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.