If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Schizostylis

The first time I had seen a Red Squirrel in the garden for some time.  I knew they had visited as the nuts were going from the feeder and the trailcam was showing them, but I hadn't actually seen one.

On my regular visits to Kanyl I wander round his garden looking for blips as he grows plants we don't and often ones we have failed with.  The sun was catching his Schizostylis, some times called Kaffir Lily it blooms from August until December.  We had some at our previous house and yes the did flower well into December.

Native as the common name suggests to South Africa but seem to have taken to the UK climate well enough.  Their colour range is from white through pinks to Scarlet. They seem happy with the Cumbrian wet climate but probably not hard frosts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.