Ballet Shoes

I finished my library book at the weekend, so to keep me going I dug out a very old favourite, "Ballet Shoes". It is a 1947 copy, utility and with back coming away, but it has been on my shelf for all those years! I hadn't remembered the story but it came back to me as I read it and saw the lovely simple line illustrations. It is an account of three little girls and their progress through drama and ballet school, and there is a lot of detail about their pocket money and the pay they received when they were in pantomimes, strictly apportioned between their Post Office Savings Books, to their guardian for their keep and, if they were lucky, sixpence for their pocket money. It is a fascinating insight into children's lives in the mid 1930s. They were so disciplined! Another world.
It is another world here today with blue skies and warm sunshine, so different from yesterday's wind and rain. It is forecast to last the week - brilliant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.