Lord Nelson

Where might you find Lord Nelson and Lord Baden Powell within 100 metres of each other? Sounds like a good pub quiz question. There's a statue of Lord Baden Powell on Poole Quayside and that's where the STS Lord Nelson is berthed but as a training training ship for people of all abilities, I suppose she could be out anywhere so maybe the quiz question doesn't work so well.

After a lovely service for my Aunt but a bit emotional of course. We returned to her bungalow for a cup of tea and sandwiches. It was lovely to catch up, however briefly with some of my close family, my daughters, my sister and my niece that I don't see often enough.  We set off for home mid afternoon but decided to break the journey for a meal somewhere once we'd got through Portsmouth and Southampton. Poole seemed a good choice although the traffic to get in had us doubting the wisdom of our choice. Once there though we had a wander up the quayside and decided to have fish and chips which we sat in and ate.

When we came out the sun was setting. I'd been watching the sky as we ate and there was a nice glow on the horizon to support the look of the square rigger. On approximately the opposite compass point, a harvest moon was just starting to climb above the horizon looking huge. I didn't have a long enough lens to make a big feature of it but I've added it as an extra.

We had a smooth journey until Honiton where it appeared the A30 to Exeter had been closed and they must have run out of diversion signs as we were left high and dry several times before we found our way back on by the M5 junction. Most frustrating at the end of a long journey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.