Coastguards

I went to Dawlish today and went down by the old boathouse. The tide was coming in and making a bit of a splash as I walked down the coast path on the sea wall. I read on a sign as I went down the cliff that in the 19th century when Brunel was building his railway that there was a lot of opposition from fishermen to building the line there. It was for this reason that the walkway along the sea wall was built something that we all appreciate these days.

There's a lot of talk of extending the sea wall out so that the railway can be moved away from the cliffs, particularly on the Teignmouth stretch. Of course lots of people are against the spoiling of the coastline so it seems that what comes around, comes around again! I seem to recall reading that Brunel's original idea was to build the railway 100 yards offshore but landowners objected to their sea views being spoilt so it was tucked under the cliffs.

My blip is a 3 shot panorama to include the breakwater and all those lovely clouds. I've included a shot of my girls from yesterday as an extra. I've also put an album of shots from Bosham and Poole here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.