Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Autumn Crocus?

We've got autumn colchicum flowering! No we haven't!. But we used to have big colchicum! Yes but the ones we have in flower aren't the same. No, they're tiny!

Conversation over. I opened up Blip to find an identical (I think. He can put me right, if not!) crocus posted today by expert Crocus Man, TonyG. He gave it the name Crocus serotinus salzmannii. (Ah serotinus: that which comes late!) He had his first one open today but, Tony, when I looked at my pictures for yesterday, I could see mine was already in flower then, beyond the apples, a blurred splash of lilac.


I will have to look out for it appearing next year. We could have a blip race, but I'm up in the cold north and don't usually have early blips of any flowers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.