Exploration day 3.

Continuing our lightning tour of Dumfries and Galloway in South West Scotland.

After two nights in a hotel in the east of the area it was time to move to a guest house in the far west looking out over the Irish Sea. This meant a journey of sixty miles but as we did several detours on the way it came to rather more than that.

Stop 1. Kirkonnell flow National Nature Reserve was just five minutes from leaving our hotel. A raised peat bog, it is known for dragonflies, butterflies, cuckoos and adders.

Stop 2. Galloway Forest Park. A huge Forestry Commission areaknown among other things for its stargazing sights where there is absolutely minimal light pollution and you can see the Milky Way as our hunter gatherer ancestors would have seen it. We went for a walk and it was here that I took the Lichen shot above. I think it is the first time I have done a Lichen blip.

Stop 3. Wigton, Scotlands National Book Town. The twice a year book festival is this week and the town was humming with talks being given by well known authors in marquees in the town. Very many bookshops with pop up wine bars and cafes. Could have spent hours here, but had to press on.

Got caught out though. When sitting in a cafe eating delicious cake I checked details of our destination on my iPhone. A very nice Scottish lady came past and with a grin on her face said “ Thats no way to eat cake, put that thing away.” My reply: I am old enough to know better, but I am of my time.” Could you have done better?

Stops 4 and 5. Isle of Whithorn and St.Ninian’s Cave. A beautifully kept coastal village with terraced cottages in pastel colours. Charming, but most looked to me like holiday homes.

Finally arrived at our second hotel which is in Portpatrick
Rather breezy today and a little shower.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.