Somewhere

I am somewhere
time has lost
in an old hotel
where a call
could be made
hard lined by wire
and analogue.
The buttons to push,
the headset to raise,
an arm's length at best,
no further to wander - 
only your memory
of times long lost.

:)


A trade fair in Bologna has pushed me to the inner hinterlands of the Apennines mountain range tonight.  A small room at the end of a corridor with trimmings and appointments that are long lost on modern times.  The smell is bewildering - something from a hotel in Modena on my first night and first visit to Italy more than 20 years ago.  

Sadly places like this are probably doomed as the clock of times continues to tick toward the future.  A mid-sized family affair with a home-cooked dinner and friendly atmosphere.  I admit I like the usual 'new' style hotel with a big plush bed and pillows, a walk-in shower and accouterments.  

It all feels comfortable enough though and I feel sure to sleep well tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.