Nearly a Harvest Moon

Yesterday morning we saw a near perfect harvest moon shot, with the moon a deep ‘harvest moon’ colour resting between the trees (see extra, but that was today).
 
From the bedroom window the picture was framed by a close by trees and it was a shot to capture – except by the time I had got the camera out and the Tamron 150-600 on it the moon had gone.
 
This morning the moon was not setting in the same place so I nipped into the field and moved along until I was in the right place, and waited.  It was a bit nippy, perhaps I should have got dressed (properly) first . . .  Unfortunately there was quite a haze this morning so good pictures were not on the card.
 
I rescued a couple of shots and thought the blip was the better of the two.  Neither great.
 
 
Today was another of THOSE days!  We have purchased a thermostatic mixer for our hot water to reduce the temperature at the taps throughout the house.  The adjustment of the pipe work went surprisingly well EXCEPT:
 
I dropped the same spanner behind the hot water cylinder FOUR times, even after I had put a towel in the way to stop anything falling down there!  Quite a struggle to get it out EACH time!!!
 
The drain cock washer disintegrated, so I had to prepare for the worse just in case I could not clean the drain cock out.  I got spare bits for any eventuality, except a replacement washer.  The drain cock did clean out so I nicked a washer from a spare drain cock that I have.  At least I got to fit an isolation valve on the hot water feed outlet from the header tank so I don’t have to drain that next time something needs doing.  Fitted one to the cold water inlet to the header tanks as well so I’ll be able to replace the washers in them in the future without having to turn all the water off.  Each cloud has a silver lining and these two jobs would not have got done if the drain cock had been ok . . .
 
AND our AquaVac packed up just when I needed it. We’ve only had it for thirty years (or is it forty), things just don’t last do they.  Maybe I can fix it . . . ??
 
So tomorrow’s blip may well be a thermostatic mixing valve ‘in situ’, or an AquaVac ‘in pieces’, either could be turned into an abstract.  Or maybe something completely different.  All I know is that at this moment I’m shattered and want to go to bed, AND it will take at least two days for me to recover from today!!  Poor old f***.
 
 
Bit behind with commenting again, but will catch up shortly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.