A Monkey's Tale

By MonkeyWithAView

Knit Knit Knit!

Busy busy busy! Jen's hastily knitting up a garment as a present for a certain mother of hers for Christmas.

THIS Christmas I might add, which might alarm any mere mortals out there, & yes Jen is aware she is slightly short of time, but I have no doubt she will finish in time. She can knit like a demon, & it will still be beautifully knitted. In case you weren't aware, Monkey was created in a matter of days & look at the caliber of his knit.

The 15 balls of wool that make up the towering knit-cano beside Jen, are what stand in front of her & her Ma having a Very Merry Christmas. One ball of wool down!

On the Office front, would you believe it, it's all go! After waiting nearly 4 weeks, I finally have got clearance from a higher being (those geniuses in tech support I presume, outsourced from somewhere like the South Pole) to access my learning courses & tests. Hallelujah! AND, I'm being trained on how to admin check the investment cases that come into our department. I seem to have my own desk, or work station or whatever they call it these days (how old do I sound??.. i've never worked in an office before, how would I know what they used to be called!?) & I did get introduced to the team. One day I might actually get my own lockable set of desk drawers!! But let's not get ahead of ourselves now.

Going through every bit of the process required for the job was quite long, & at times, quite quite boring, & I think by the end of the day I was a little jaded by all the paperwork, photocopying, databases & general repetition of the role, & I imagine so many desk based jobs are very similar. However, I think things will improve as I get accustomed to how this process roles, & of course as I steadily become a robot in the system. And to be fair, us new temps have been essentially twiddling our thumbs for 4 weeks, so it's not surprising we were/are bordering on insanity.

Anyhoo, there's knitting to be done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.