Storms!

I had another day today where I could mostly rest in my garden while I try and get over my cold. It’s been quite warm but mostly cloudy. It wasn’t without activity, however.

We are in the last few days before we finally make the last step in the merge with another airline. It was announced 8 long years ago that United would be merging with Continental Airlines. From a passenger perspective it’s probably looked like a done deal for at least the last 3 years, but the Flight Attendants are the final work group to be fully merged - we’ve still been working as if we were two separate airlines. A LOT has had to happen before we got to this point.

October 1st we will finally be working as one group under the same contract, flying aircraft that may be unfamiliar to us. Both sides of the merge are going through huge change. Today we got our schedules for October. Not without a LOT of glitches and a lot of angst!! It feels very stormy!! So I’ve spent a great deal of time on my laptop or iPhone. There is a LOT to learn and get used to. This is the biggest change in my 33- year career! These are very busy days and its hard not to spend ALL my time with work-related issues. (Hence I’m way behind on my blips!!)

I decided I needed a break from staring at a computer screen, so I took a walk around the park before the sun set. The sky looked very stormy (much like my day, really!), but the exercise felt good and I’m starting to feel better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.