Darting, Dipping, Paddling, Piping, Wagging

Dogs aren't allowed on the Amwell Dragonfly Trail so I took Ollie to the Panshanger Park trail. She sat sensibly while I captured this common darter in flight, then we went to the Dog Dip.

We had it to ourselves at first so I let her off the lead and threw twigs. She absolutely loved it, as did I, paddling in my wellies. We heard a piping call and a kingfisher flashed electric blue along the chalk stream and perched not that far away from us. It didn't budge as we sploshed towards it. What a thrill to get a shot of a kingfisher whilst nearly knee-deep in its habitat.

Then some dogs came to play. It was a shame for Ollie as I put her on the lead just in case. She was squealing with excitement as they played ball and obviously wanted to join in. I've made a montage and added it to extras. My other image in extras is a beautiful grey wagtail. 

  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.