Flower Friday : : Begonia

The begonia plant will have to move into the shed for the winter pretty soon. We awoke to wintry fog this morning and I put on my Costco down jacket,  but the sun came out about noon and it is quite pleasant now. I noticed these flowers which had fallen onto a chaise lounge, and liked the contrasting colors and the late afternoon light.  

"She sacrificed her reputation, safety and career to come forward with her truth for the good of the American people. Dr Ford has nothing to gain but everything to lose"
-Yola Robert, Forbes

She has already had to move herself and her family to a different location and hire a security detail because of death threats. I believe her. She has shown great courage in the face of some outrageous accusations. I can't imagine why she would do this for any other reason than telling the truth. 

"Judge Kavanaugh showed America exactly why I nominated him". 
-Donald Trump, not my president

Yes I believe he did. Kavanaugh channeled Trump, went on the attack, blamed the Democrats for stalling his nomination and envisioned a conspiracy against him going back to the Clinton administration. This is classic Trump...never admit a mistake, blame everyone else, and call the  process of sorting out the whole mess "disgraceful ". If, as he says, he didn't do it and wasn't even at the infamous party, why is he so resistant to an FBI background check?

"Where are my glasses? Oh, they're on my head"
-Nina Totenberg, NPR Legal Affairs Correspondent

This whole thing has become so convoluted that it is almost impossible to follow. Everyone is overwrought and rattled. All I know is that the Supreme Court has always been the one institution that is supposed to be above partisan politics. This process of a single party trying to ram through a candidate with a questionable character before the midterm elections is what is disgraceful. Democrats are trying to hold the high ground and keep this whole sorry process from sinking into the swamp. It is all a bit riveting, but when I start feeling like I need to take a shower, I have to turn off the news....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.