Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Mist on the Canal

Despite the warmth of the image, I can attest to how cold it was this morning.  A ground frost covered much of the grass as I walked over to the canal.  The mist hung around the canal and low lying fields nearby and the aerial view from the drone showed that the area around the common was shrouded in the same way.

Technical:  I didn't trust to the sensor with this image so bracketed the exposures to ensure I had something to work with when I got back home (5 images, 1 stop apart).  None of the resultant images brought the exposure for the sun within the dynamic range of the camera but in an image like this I don't think it is necessary.  It was the detail in the grasses and plants on the edge of the towpath that were important.  There wasn't a breath of wind so I did tone map the 5 images without any loss of detail.


In other news Europe extended their lead in the Ryder Cup.  USA will need a big come back in the singles on Sunday to stand any chance in retaining the trophy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.