Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Clematis through Trellis

A day spent mainly at home, soaking up the drama and atmosphere of the Ryder Cup.  A real roller-coaster of a day with the USA dominating the morning four balls before the resurgent European team white washed them in the afternoon.  Glad to see the UK can still contribute in a positive way to something in Europe!

I snuck out between shots into the beautiful autumn sunshine for an emergency blip.  I hope to find something in blue in the garden (the golf bags of the Eurpean team all have "Allez Les Bleus" on their base), but had to make do with a late flowering clematis.

As a much younger person I was at the Belfry in 1985 on the day that Europe won the cup for the first time since 1957.  I remember being at the side of the 18th green as Sam Torrance sank the put to win and the celebrations that ensued.  We even had a fly past of Concorde during the closing ceremony (not that it is anything like the spectacle of these times).  I was drunk on euphoria of the occasion, despite no alcohol passing my lips throughout the day. Ah, happy days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.