If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Locals?

An early start as I had to be in Kirkcudbright by 10:00.  I had been invited to a BTO (British Trust for Ornithology) training course.  The title suggested it was to teach identification of wetland birds (Ducks and Waders) and waders aren't one of my strong points.  There was however an underlying theme about the Wetland Birds Survey (WeBS).

Much of the BTO research is the result of "citizen science" for example the Bird Atlas 2007- 11 had 40,000 of us survey every tetrad (2Km x 2Km square) in the country, winter and summers.  A great day with just the right mix of theory and practical.  Surveying the estuary resulted in the birds being too far away for sensible photography.

So after the course was over I had a wander down to the quayside to look for a blip.  As I neared the quay I came round a corner and met this couple.  As you enter Kirkcudbright it bills itself as "The Artists Town".  Clearly one of the artists works in 3D and metal.  I liked the rust finish contrasting with the man's stainless steel shoes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.